Weston A Price and his Heirs

So I entered this nutritional journey because googling “can I feed baby kefir” led me to Dr. Price’s research. His book Nutrition and Physical Degeneration can be read for free:

http://gutenberg.net.au/ebooks02/0200251h.html

I have yet to do so, but I want to find the time to do so partly because it’s fascinating ethnographically, partly because – how do I put this politely – I don’t fully trust his heirs.

The Weston A. Price Foundation home page is, basically, batshit. The first thing that jumps out is the anti-vaxxing links. (I happened to enter the site via interior links that were much more reasonable, such as this article about Vitamin A.)

I don’t really trust Sally Fallon Morell, the President of the Foundation. She’s a journalist, not a scientist, and it shows. Because of the anti-vaxxing agenda (which has nothing to do with Dr. Price’s research), I’m hesitant to spend a dime on her book Nourishing Traditions, despite the fact that I’d appreciate having it on my kitchen shelf as a cookbook.

There seems to be a groupthink mentality to various sources of information on the Weston A. Price diet. Most quote Nourishing Traditions or the WAPF website. I was curious about Ramiel Nagel’s Cure Tooth Decay, which I had not yet read, but I went to the Cure Tooth Decay website and found it to be not only poorly written, but also saddled with anti-vaxxer nonsense.

None of these sources are really independent of each other, so I feel trapped in a sea of circular references. I do feel comfortable checking the meat, fish, and offal recommendations against Paleo sources, but I’m not yet sure who or what to check the grain and dairy recommendations against.

Two more strikes against Sally Fallon Morell: first, her recommendation against pressure cookers, which strikes me as rather irrationally anti-science. I trust the studies that show that pressure cookers preserve more nutrients, rather than less.

Second: The whole flap over Green Pastures Fermented Cod Liver Oil and Dr. Kaayla Daniel’s report. Everything about it stinks of internal politics. The Paleo community seems to be more truly a community; WAPF seems, unfortunately, more like a cult.

Which is sad, because I strongly suspect that Dr. Price’s research is very, very important. So I don’t think I’ll be able to escape reading the source material myself.

Even the WAPF (which does put out some very good articles along with the crazy ones) says that Dr. Price’s words have been misappropriated many, many times over the years.

http://www.westonaprice.org/health-topics/abcs-of-nutrition/the-right-price/

Leave a Reply

